Kirsty's Reviews

Forever reading books

Book Review: The Killer on the Wall, by Emma Kavanagh

31180439I received a digital copy of this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley.

This is a psychological thriller which is set in a small village where everyone knows everyone. Twenty years before the main events in this book a serial killer went on a spree and left bodies against Hadrian’s Wall, and everyone was shocked when the killer was found and arrested, as everyone knew him. So now, twenty years later the killer is still in jail, yet the murders have started up again.

This book gripped me with a very strong beginning, which was gruesome and really helped set the scene for later on in the novel. I found that the book took a bit of a dip after that though, as I found my attention drifting away, and I even considered just giving it up and putting it down. I’m glad I stuck with it though, as after the problematic start, this book really pulled me in. It’s rare that a book can chill me and spook me to the extent that this one did. It left me feeling so uneasy as I began to suspect someone from very early on. I wasn’t sure of my guess until towards the end, though it did turn out that my guess was correct. I didn’t mind that I guessed correctly so early on, as this book created an environment which left me forever unsure of everyone, and which left me feeling disturbed and scared for several of the characters at several points.

I think one of the strongest aspects of this book is that it is told in multiple points of view. This is done so effectively, and really gives the reader a chance to get to know most of the village from several different perspectives. I felt like these people I was reading about were real, that I could actually be living in this place as I believed in these characters and also felt like I knew the characters so well.

I can’t wait to check out more books by this author. If you don’t mind reading a book where the killer is somewhat obvious, yet at the same time is atmospheric and chilling, then I highly recommend you give this book a read.

4 stars out of 5

Leave a Reply

