Kirsty's Reviews

Forever reading books

Book Review: The Sound of the World By Heart, by Giacomo Bevilacqua

34150927I received a free digital copy of this graphic novel from the publisher via NetGalley.

The first thing that struck me about this graphic novel is how visually stunning it is. I don’t normally start off a review talking about the artwork, but this book just blew me away with beauty. I loved how the colours were so vibrant, while also looking natural and realistic. Each page was a pleasure to look at, especially the pages which featured illustrated photographs of New York, which made me feel like I was actually there with the character.

So now for the plot, which at times confused me in the early stages. We follow a heartbroken young man, as he explores New York while conducting an experiment of not speaking to anyone for sixty days. He walks around with headphones on and documents his exploration with the photo’s, yet something strange starts happening. I can’t go into further details than that because of spoilers, but at times the plot did make me question what I thought was going on. It did all make sense in the end though, and made for a beautiful read.

What I enjoyed most about this graphic novel, was just how real it felt, whilst being so powerful and raw. It’s impressive how something with so few words can leave such a lasting impression upon a reader. I highly recommend this to anyone who is looking for a more quiet graphic novel, something which is both stunning and has a message behind it.

4 stars out of 5

Leave a Reply

