Kirsty's Reviews

Forever reading books

Book Review: The Honeymoon, by Tina Seskis

cover109939-mediumI received a free digital copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley.

This is a psychological thriller about a woman who goes on her honeymoon with her husband to the Maldives. While they are there, the husband mysteriously disappears and you are left unsure whether he has been murdered by a stranger, murdered by the wife, drowned or even absconded. This book takes you on many twists and turns throughout, and everything is never as it seems.

I really enjoyed this book, which swaps timelines a lot to help build up the entire picture. You also get different perspectives as the novel progresses. The protagonist is such an unreliable narrator, which leads to you constantly second guessing yourself and not having a clue who to trust, including her.

I will say that the end wrapped up a little too quickly for me, I would have liked everything to have been fleshed out a little more, though everything is explained and you will finish this book feeling satisfied, I personally would have liked a little more. I correctly guessed the ending at one point mid way through the novel, I was never sure though, and changed my mind multiple times after that.

I also think this book had a few pacing issues, as I occasionally found it to drag a little, this was caused mainly by the protagonist spending just a bit too much time on the island for my liking, it all got a bit repetitive.

All in all this book thrilled me, and I will definitely be checking out more of this authors works.

4 stars out of 5

Leave a Reply

