Kirsty's Reviews

Forever reading books

Book Review: Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index, by Julie Israel

33871765-2I received a free digital copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley.

This book follows the story of Juniper, her family and friends and how they are coping with the loss of Juniper’s sister, who died before the start of the novel. We get flashbacks of what happened, along with learning about the present and the guilt that Juniper faces.

I really enjoyed getting to know the characters in this book, and I’d say the characters were the saving grace. Some of the relationships and the characters are really cute and I loved getting to know them all.I’ve read books similar to this before, which I have found more interesting and generally cover the topic a lot better.

There are plot holes left and right, especially relating to Juniper’s index cards, and the choices she makes can be questionable at times. This led to me feeling quite underwhelmed at times and I found that I enjoyed this book, but I didn’t love it. I don’t think it will have left a lasting impression on me, and a year down the line I’ll probably struggle to remember anything about it.

Overall, this is worth picking up if you are looking for a novel that deals with the death of a family member and you have already read lots of other options. If you haven’t read other books, then there are plenty out there that do this better.

3 stars out of 5

Leave a Reply

